designed in Kansas, made in Tennessee

20160316_221541

Back in December I received an email notification that creativebug.com was going to feature a monthly quilt-a-long in 2016. Some of the designs are traditional quilt blocks and others are new, modern designs. It looked like the final product would be a fun quilt, so I joined creativebug.com.

Each month’s online class is led by a different fabric designer. My blocks pictured above are, from left to right, the blocks for January, February, and March. Quilters will recognize January’s block as an Ohio Star. February’s block is a design by Anna Maria Horner, and the March block is from Carolyn Friedlander.

The fabric I am using is from my stash. This fabric is the Sweet Pea collection designed by a fellow Kansan, Lynne Hagmeier of Kansas Troubles Quilters. I won it in one of her giveaways a year or two ago. I have to piece scraps together to make larger pieces big enough for some pattern sections, but I don’t mind. That will be less noticeable when the quilt is finished. I will be adding a border to each block, using a solid khaki fabric that also is already in my stash.

Leave a Reply

